8:22 p.m. 2003-12-24
The Bitch says: christmas rant

I've been sitting here trying to decide whether to post tonite or not. Usually I would go ahead and do it but, this is a christmas thing. I was trying to explain to a work associate yesterday why I don't celebrate christmas. She kept going on about presents, little kids and all that. Well, I agree with the little kids and wonder and little faces lit up and all that crap. However, each year the hype starts a little earlier and this year the halloween costumes were competing with christmas decorations. Yes, I'm pagan. Yes, I celebrate Yule. I haven't had a christmas tree in my house in approximately 10 years. I see no need. I refuse to play who maxed out the most credit cards and who is going to be broke for the longest trying to pay for it. I don't believe that you prove how much you care for someone by the number of boxes under the dried out about to burn tree in the middle of your living room. Showing a credit card balance of $10,000 for one holiday is ridiculous. Dollar amount doesn't mean love. Number of presents doesn't mean they care more about you than someone else who may not have that kind of money to spend. My kids didn't ever have that kind of ridiculously large christmases as we just didn't have that much as they grew up. I remember them being very happy but other kids making them feel bad cuz they might not have the most expensive toys in the neighborhood. Noone in our neighborhood could afford much but some people borrowed all kinds of money to buy the best. Then they tried to pay it off in order to do it all again next year. My kids also, to this day, don't judge people by monetary standards. And I love them for it.

Anyway, if it's your thing, Merry Christmas.....Happy Kwanza....Happy late Yule....Happy Hannakah.........Sweet Dreams


I'M GONE

kiss | this




eXTReMe Tracker