8:58 p.m. 2003-08-25
The Bitch says: Nina and Arlene

Work was really kind of interesting today. First of all, I didn't have to play unit clerk today cuz Arlene was in to do it. I think they're getting her ready to do 5 days a week while I'm off for my knee surgery. Whatever reason, I was happy.

Arlene is a unique person. Her husband died 7 yrs ago and she still mourns him daily. She basically had no life other that what they did together so, when he died she had nothing left. She started at MVCC almost 3 years ago. I was doing unit clerk and staffing 5 days a week...about 70 hrs. during the week. When she started I gave her a month. She has hung in there though and for that I'm grateful. She pisses me off all of the time but, you can't stay mad at her.

A couple of weeks ago she was at her daughter the alcoholic's house, I think she had spent the nite. There was this dog that was running around outside and had been barking since about 4am. They caught the dog, took it to the owner..he lived down the street...and tried to talk to him about the dog. He told them he didn't want the damm dog and if they wanted it to take it or else he was going to have it put to sleep. Arlene's daughter said no that she would take it. The poor thing was all matted up and full of ticks. This was on a Sunday. Monday they took the dog to a groomer, shaved most of her hair pretty short, got all of the ticks off her and got her all cleaned up. She is a real cute terrier mix, small, kind of reddish with eyes that will make you cry. Anyway, her daughter's husband said they couldn't keep the dog so Arlene took it home. The woman has a heart of gold but she doesn't think first a lot of the time. She already had a cat she adopted that is 3yrs old. She lives in a 1 bedroom apartment with no yard. The dog, Nina, is 6. She took her home Monday nite and had to go to work Tuesday morning.

At first the cat was kind of funky with the dog but they got better. But, everytime Arlene went to work she would go home for lunch to walk the dog and check on the cat and something would be torn up in her apartment. Nina broke the blinds on her window the first week. Nina was an outside dog, used to running with the other 4 dogs in the house she lived with. Arlene not only took her from her running buddies.....which was better for her but Nina doesn't understand that......but, then, she left her alone all day. She felt that because her cat was ok the dog would be too.......NOT!!

Today she went home for lunch and came back with Nina. The dog had torn up about 2 square feet of tile in front of the door......with her nails I assume.....trying to get out. She had torn a blanket completely apart and torn down the shower curtain. The shower curtain, the blanket not biggy.....she can buy new ones. The blinds, the tile.....that's a problem. She lives in an apartment and they will charge her big time to fix it. Nina is having abandonment issues and anxiety issues. She doesn't understand why Arlene is mad at her but, sadly, Arlene can't keep her.

As I mentioned before......she has these eyes. I took her in the charting room with me for a while.....she curled up on my lap, I wanted to take her home. But, I would have the same problem. Stevie, the Empress Kitty, is ok with me gone during the day. A dog wouldn't work out. I live in an apartment with no yard and I'm gone all day. Poor Nina.....but there is no way.

Our Social Services person works with Animal Rescue Foundation so she's working on a place for Nina that would be better.

Arlene's heart is in the right place but, like I said, she doesn't think first. If she did, she wouldn't have brought her home. She would've found a place for her to live that had a yard and/or someone home with her all day.

That's the story of Nina...she is really a sweetie.......

With that........

I'M OUTTA HERE

kiss | this




eXTReMe Tracker