11:19 p.m. 2003-08-13
The Bitch says: more aol crap

Uh Oh.........haven't been here for a few days. I was feeling kind of crappy for a day of two so didn't do anything. Then, I installed a new external modem on my computer. It was a very special free present from AOL....it was to try and shut my mouth and make me stop bitching at them all the time. So, went online last night about 9pm. In the space of 15 minutes I was disconnected 10 times. AOL has this little auto-fix. I think they put that up so they wouldn't hear all of the complaints from their subscribers. All of those people are sitting at home cursing out the computer instead of the techs at tech support. So, I did auto-fix.....10 times. It would go through, detect my modem, let me back on line and then, within a few minutes, I had lost my connection again.

What you have to understand about this modem is that I didn't ask for it. AOL, in their all-knowing way, decided that the problem was with my modem and sent me a new one for free. I feel soooo special. All of my connection and disconnection problems were going to be over. This morning I went online again and again was disconnected 3 times, did the auto-fix thing, and was getting totally disgusted with this damm computer and the crappy ISP that is running it. So, now we go to that totally awesome site....AOL on line tech support. I typed in my problem and was, after a few minutes, connected to a tech named Arnold. I guess he couldn't read what I'd already posted as my problem because he asked me what was wrong again. Then he asked what I did.....we discussed my developing relationship with auto-fix. Then he said to do the same thing but manually and if that didn't work to reinstall my AOL software. So, being a good little computer person, and knowing how intelligent the tech support people are......I did the fix manually then, cuz it didn't work, I reinstalled AOL........and it still didn't work.

And, now I'm totally pissed. So, I took that special modem they sent me and threw it across the room, got the old one that still worked just fine, installed that one.......and, I've been online for quite awhile with no problems.

I think I'm going to ship that modem right back to AOL and let them know what I think of it and add a special note for that so totally helpful Arnold.

Anyway, my son got the shelves, desk extension, and everything else done today. Just in time to start school in another week.

So........I've vented about AOL so

I'M OUTTA HERE

kiss | this




eXTReMe Tracker