8:03 p.m. 2003-11-01
The Bitch says: death can be love

Ok, here is me trying to update more than once every 3 weeks. I was doing good before then that icky thing called "My Life" busted in. Yeah, like I have a life. I think it was more like midterms and a term paper due next Tuesday.
Anyway, I think I work in the only profession in the world that is happy when someone dies. Well, maybe morticians but they don't count. They only see them dead.
There was this 80 something year old lady who got out of bed, walked to the bathroom and died. She was in her 80's, a DNR, had some health issues anyway. When you gotta go that was the best way. Fast and to the point.
People think I'm crazy when I'm glad someone died but the alternative is bad. To lay in bed, hooked up to a machine that dumps fluid food directly into your stomach 24 hrs. a day is really crappy. To have to take enough pain pills to kill a horse and you still hurt. That's double crappy. When your body starts basically feeding on itself.....so way crappy.
When you think that you're doing a good thing to keep mommy or daddy alive by any means necessary, step back and imagine you in their body. Incontinent, unable to even turn yourself unless an aide helps you, if you don't have a feeding tube you are being fed pureed food by someone you may not even know. When I first started working with geriatrics our instructor made us try pureed food. I don't care how you do it........pureed food is nasty, horrible, digusting. Your wearing a diaper cuz you can't control bowels or bladder. They call it a brief, they call it pull-ups for adults.......it's still a diaper and your loved one knows it. Like I said, imagine that's you in the diaper(I mean brief...lol.), eating that pureed crap that nobody knows what it is.
You do no one any favors and you don't show your love by keeping them alive. If you really love them you will let them go in peace and dignity.


Enough preachin' for today. You know the drill...

I'M OUTTA HERE

kiss | this




eXTReMe Tracker