7:04 p.m. 2003-08-30
The Bitch says: Rewards of doing your job????

Ok, I'm getting way to obsessive about this clix thing. Dropped from 3 to 28......oh well.

Back to work today......same old crap different day. We have a program called "Whatever it takes" which is basically an employee of the month thing. To me employee of the month or the whatever it takes person should be someone who goes over and above what their job is. If you are a cna on the floor you don't get rewarded for giving a patient a shower. That is your job. I actually have 3 jobs. I do unit clerk one day a week, medical records assistant 2 days a week and staffing all four days that I work. So, at any time I'm doing 2 jobs at the same time. I'm not the only one, several of our staff have different job descriptions. My problem seems to be with the unit clerk who does it 4 days a week. That is the only job she has, unlike most of the rest of us. She does her job, kind of. I tend to end up fixing some stuff but, that's ok. She has hung on for 2 1/2 years.....I trained her......and that is fine. Before she started I was doing unit clerk and staffing 5 days a week...sometimes 6. I averaged about 65-75 hours a week......good paychecks but too tired to spend any of the money. If she wasn't there I would never have the time to go to school. Alot of people seem to have the idea that I got really mad and jealous because she got the whatever it takes for some month last year. It comes with $100 and a plaque by the way. Yes, they are partially right, I did get mad but not jealous. I got mad for several reasons. The day shift got together and all signed this paper to nominate her because she was depressed about her husband's death.....he died 8 yrs. ago. I'm not saying she can't still be depressed but you don't get employee of the month for depression. They didn't let me know about the paper because they thought I would get mad. Yeah, and I got madder because they tried to keep it from me.....like I'm 5 yrs. old or something. And, their reason for nominating her was that she spent several hours coordinating an appointment and transportation for a patient to the doctor. THAT IS HER JOB!!! What the hell do you give somebody a reward for doing their job......then most of us should get it everyday. Of course, I went to work today and they asked me to help do an admit, in between medical records and staffing, and she hadn't bothered to make any admit packs which contain all of the paperwork for the admit or done any lab slips for the weekend and monday......which is her job so these people can get the necessary labs drawn. But, if I say anything I get the line that I'm jealous and she works so hard. Give me a freakin break......so does everybody. I'm off for about 2 weeks or more with this knee surgery. Let's see if she can handle it all by herself......yeah right.

Well......

I'M OUTTA HERE

kiss | this




eXTReMe Tracker